This building was originally on piles over the marsh and could have been built as early as 1885. It was the home of Otokichi and Asayo Murakami and their 10 children from 1929 until their internment in 1942.
This shed houses the winch used to pull boats up the marine ways to the Richmond Boatbuilders. It was built around 1950.
The Cannery: Beneath the Shingles
Used as a residence from 1918 to 1942. After WWII it was used as a foreman's dwelling, and later for storage. The construction of this building is unique: it doesn't have an internal framing system. The exterior walls are constructed of two thicknesses of wide, vertical planks, without studs of other framing members.
The Britannia Shipyard
The oldest surviving structure on the Steveston waterfront and the oldest shipyard building in BC.
Living and Working at Britannia
These stilt houses were built in the late 1800s, and originally located in Steveston Village. They are called 'knock down houses' or 'kit houses' and were pre-assembled in New Westminster and then barged to Steveston where they became living quarters for employees of a cannery or shipyard.
The Chinese Bunkhouse
This building was constructed in 1915, as part of the ABC Packing Company's operation in Knight Inlet, BC.